Summer movies
May. 6th, 2008 11:25 amThe NY Times had this to say about women and summer films.
Yup. I've been complaining for a long time about the dearth of women in the movies. While I LOVED No Country for Old Men, 300 and several of the other recent all male movies, it's disturbing that women are taking such a back seat in film. Do film makers think women just don't go to the theatre? That we have no money? That we don't EXIST? Sadly, when we're portrayed up on screen we look just as invested in the status quo as the men - looking like sexbots, muttering inane dialogue, shopping (whee!), being princesses, or, like Pepper Potts in Iron Man, being the Faithful Woman Who Stands by Her Man (and is also The Brains Behind the Brawn).
OR - women get to be bad asses, but only in a way that is both "masculine" (read: violent) enough for male viewers to take them seriously AND ALSO "sexy" enough for men to want to pay money to look at them. Barf. That's all the intellectual sobriety I can give to that faux girl-power nonsense.
Yup. I've been complaining for a long time about the dearth of women in the movies. While I LOVED No Country for Old Men, 300 and several of the other recent all male movies, it's disturbing that women are taking such a back seat in film. Do film makers think women just don't go to the theatre? That we have no money? That we don't EXIST? Sadly, when we're portrayed up on screen we look just as invested in the status quo as the men - looking like sexbots, muttering inane dialogue, shopping (whee!), being princesses, or, like Pepper Potts in Iron Man, being the Faithful Woman Who Stands by Her Man (and is also The Brains Behind the Brawn).
OR - women get to be bad asses, but only in a way that is both "masculine" (read: violent) enough for male viewers to take them seriously AND ALSO "sexy" enough for men to want to pay money to look at them. Barf. That's all the intellectual sobriety I can give to that faux girl-power nonsense.
no subject
Date: 2008-05-06 10:51 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-05-06 11:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-05-07 12:21 am (UTC)The female empaths everywhere in SF make me barf (Troi in Star Trek NG), and honestly the telepaths do too (Phoenix of the X-Men). I think we can all agree that the oh-so-dependent on the female body technique of flashing one's boobs to distract the opponent (optimally before kicking him in the 'nads) is less than ideal, as is the poisonous seductress gambit.
The Incredibles (remember that movie?) pissed me off by assigning the active superpowers to the men (strength, speed) while giving the girl invisibility (!) and the mom literally infinite flexibility: she bent over backward, hollowed herself out, enveloped, and supported, all for the sake of the rest of the family.
What's a girl to do?
no subject
Date: 2008-05-07 05:48 am (UTC)As for the Incredibles, I really liked that the teenage girl was invisible. I thought that was a great take on being an adolescent female. And to some degree I liked the flexibility of the mom - again, good commentary - but the mom was definitely more problematic for me for that same reason.
What's a girl to do? I don't know. Either stop going to the movies and giving Hollywood my money (and that's no fun!) or start writing screenplays, directing movies, etc.
no subject
Date: 2008-05-07 10:27 pm (UTC)Yes, let's write screenplays. I'm prodding you (us) to come up with the kind of women that would be in those screenplays.
no subject
Date: 2008-05-19 05:40 pm (UTC)(Sorry for the late entry to the convo.)