Okay. Tuesday nights, after I go to church (Eastern Orthodox liturgy. I'm so not a joiner, and that's another entry entirely), there is karaoke. It's all Stephanie's doing. The cool kids from JSTB and FST all come out and join us liberal wacko-s over at PSR for a night of (mild) drinking and listening to theatre majors sing bad pop music. You know they're theatre makors 'cuz their stage present is off the hook and their singing's pretty good. But, no voice major is ever going to karaoke, not in the middle of the semester anyway. Wouldn't want to fuck up the voice before juries. Because everyone knows I "sing" (opera! classical!) there is much pressure to get up and sing. I have the stage presence of a limp fish and all the stage fright of a ......me, attempting to sing pop music. I effectively put off singing tonight. But then. Some girl attempted to sing "Little Red Corvette". She must've thought her hips and sexual umph could pull off the tune. Oh no. She screwed up the best part of the song ("you must be a limousine"). Part of me wants to do it next week. Instead I think I will sing some Sade. No one does jazzy stuff. I don't have to be a rock star. I would do some Evanescence, but alas, there is none available to sing. Sade it must be.
Bed time. I *will* be a good grad student tomorrow. I'm picking up thesis credit this semester, by the way. I found out this afternoon. My god. The thesis begins. But not until I have a good night's sleep.
Bed time. I *will* be a good grad student tomorrow. I'm picking up thesis credit this semester, by the way. I found out this afternoon. My god. The thesis begins. But not until I have a good night's sleep.