This is the week that just won't end. I realize that if I'm going to do well in my job I have to care a hell of a lot more about administration than I do now. I'm going to have to take on some responsibility for intra-office communication. I need to be a one woman pep squad. (None of this is above and beyond my job description/expectation in this little office.) The issue is my ambivalence. I don't want responsibility for other's communication. And I really don't care about administration. The frustrating thing is, I'm a natural organizer, communicator, facilitator, and coordinator. I do a lot of these things freely among my friends and in other areas of my life. I think I need a job that does not ask me to do even more of these things. I lie in bed at night and lists run through my head. I have at least three calendars that I keep current.
In all honesty, I liked being the front desk receptionist better where all I had to do was register people and answer phones and was only responsible for task completion. One of the things I liked about working here was the lack of compartmentalization. We are encouraged to bring our whole selves to work - a rare request in the working world. However, I'm finding myself more and more wishing I could just clock in and clock out. Maybe the problem is just that I'm bored and have too much free time on my hands. As evidenced by this post.
Maybe I should've followed my mother's advice and gotten my MA in teaching. You're never bored in a public high school classroom. That's for certain.
In all honesty, I liked being the front desk receptionist better where all I had to do was register people and answer phones and was only responsible for task completion. One of the things I liked about working here was the lack of compartmentalization. We are encouraged to bring our whole selves to work - a rare request in the working world. However, I'm finding myself more and more wishing I could just clock in and clock out. Maybe the problem is just that I'm bored and have too much free time on my hands. As evidenced by this post.
Maybe I should've followed my mother's advice and gotten my MA in teaching. You're never bored in a public high school classroom. That's for certain.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-01 08:44 pm (UTC)Bored of the jerky students.
Bored of the lack of enthusiasm.
Bored of the excuses (though some of them are entertaining).
Bleah.
'course, I burned out on subbing WAY before I could get out of it as a job, so that may color my memories a bit. ;) Presumably when one is a full time teacher one is less bored than when one is a sub.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-01 09:49 pm (UTC)I just like school. In fact, my job post has encouraged me even more to go back to school. Part time here + PhD work would be much more satisfying. Also, much poorer, and I'm getting burned out on the poor part.