theatokos: (Default)
[personal profile] theatokos
The last few nights B has decided not fall asleep until closer to 2am. Adam is exhausted. I am too. B is only sleeping 4 hours a night now and is increasingly awake and needing attention during the day. He still doesn't seem to know I'm any different from anyone else. I figured out that I don't make the bath water warm enough. There was a strange winged bug at the bottom of my oats - ew! - so I dumped all the oats out. This means I couldn't make granola. I am incredibly bored with my job, but can't quit. B is fussy today. My neighborhood is ugly and noisy and not inspiring when I think about taking a walk. The are no good cafes within walking distance. Actually the East Bay is mostly devoid of good lounging cafes. I feel isolated and I'm wondering where my friends are. The whole PhD thing hovers above me and I feel b.a.d. that I'm doing nothing about it.

I think I'm just tired and letting little things get the better of me. But, place, loneliness and being bored with my job keep cropping up.

I'm thinking of going to a movie to cheer myself up. I'd like to go see Tropic Thunder but I'll probably end up seeing the Traveling Pants movie. Hmmm... what about Hellboy II?

On the good side: it's a beautiful day. Bennett is the cutest thing ever, getting cuter by the day. He's getting more facially and vocally expressive.

Date: 2008-08-14 08:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seagull42.livejournal.com
Hellboy II is fun. I wouldn't call it great cinema, or a deep, meaningful movie. But it's visually attractive, has a nice story, and finds that balance of mixing in myth (and making reference), without needing to know anything about the myth to enjoy the movie. Might be just the thing for relaxing after taking care of B and other things you speak of.

In fact - yea - that sounds right... ;-)

I didn't see the original Hellboy - others I know say this one isn't quite as good as the original, but is still worth seeing.

I will not make any puns about it being a B movie. I will not make any puns about it being a B movie.

Date: 2008-08-14 10:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] miss-malloreee.livejournal.com
I'm also wondering where my friends went? I guess they bailed out as soon as I got pregnant. I realize now I don't have much in common with most the people I used to or still talk to.

Date: 2008-08-14 11:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ewigweibliche.livejournal.com
My best friends have all moved away. And those I am close to here are great but it's always such a production to get together. There's never that moment of running into some one at the grocery store or on the street.

Date: 2008-08-14 11:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msmidge.livejournal.com
Sounds like exhaustion. :( Maybe you could try being one of these yuppie couples I've been reading about who hire a night nurse to take care of the baby while they sleep.

Date: 2008-08-15 12:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ewigweibliche.livejournal.com
We had a great schedule: Adam takes B from 10-1am while I sleep and then when B wakes up I get him. But yeah, I'm just run down. And it brings up all my regular Stuff.

Profile

theatokos: (Default)
theatokos

October 2010

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 01:50 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios